Top Five Records Sunday : Brit Pop

Each Sunday from now on will see a theme from this here blog; I decided this after re watching one of my all time favourite films, High Fidelity. I’m not going to explain it, just watch it.

Starting today, I’m going to be compiling a Top 5 chart. Each week the chart will be different in content and origin. Some will be quite obvious, some just based on my mood that day, so bear with me. Some you may love, some you may find ridiculous and hate, we’ll just have to see what happens I guess.

I’m starting this weeks Top 5 with a genre very close to my heart. A genre which in my eyes could never be successfully recreated and a movement that I don’t believe has been bettered since its demise. This movement was born in the UK in the early 90’s and was influenced some may say by guitar based pop of the 1970’s and the alternative rock/indie acts of the 1980’s.

I am of course, talking about Brit pop.

Timeless is the key word that comes to mind when describing how I feel about this genre. Its amazing how albums I was introduced to as a teenager not only changed my whole perspective of music at the time, but can still move me a good ten years on. I have only vague memories of my early teenage years, yet when it comes to remembering the lyrics to the entirety of ‘The I.T Girl’ by Sleeper or Ash‘s ‘1977’, not a problem. I have difficulty believing that theres many bands around at the minute that will still do that to me when I hit my thirties.

I find Brit pop more inspiring than any other musical movement of my lifetime so far. What better role models for a teenage girl than Justine Frischmann of Elastica; Louise Wener of Sleeper, Lauren Laverne of Kenickie; Charlotte Hatherley of Ash or Miki Berenyi of Lush?? The talent and pure in your face attitude displayed by these front women beats looking up to Britney Spears any day in my opinion.

Brit pop even divided the country in 1995 with the fight to the death for the number one slot between Oasis and Blur with their singles ‘Roll With It’ and ‘Country House’.

I quote from NME magazine, “Yes, in a week where news leaked that Saddam Hussein was preparing nuclear weapons, everyday folks were still getting slaughtered in Bosnia and Mike Tyson was making his comeback, tabloids and broadsheets alike went Brit pop crazy”. Who does that now?? And I’m not accepting the papers obsessions over Pete Doherty and Amy Winehouse’s drug habits as a valid answer here. These headlines were all about the music.

So how do I carve up such a hugely important genre and whittle down the incredible amount of brilliant bands and albums to a Top 5? With great difficulty is the answer. I’ve chosen the following five tracks about seventeen different times and what I’ve come up with is not what I consider to be the best songs of that era, as that would be impossible. Instead, I’ve chosen five of my personal favourites.

Enjoy…

My Top 5 Brit pop Records.

Bedhead – Sleeper [From ‘Smart’1995] (YSI) (Alt Link Mediafire)

Vaseline – Elastica [From ‘Elastica’ 1995] (YSI)
(Alt Link Mediafire)

Charmless Man – Blur [From ‘The Great Escape’ 1995] (YSI) (Alt Link Mediafire)

Daydreamer – Menswear [From ‘Nuisance’ 1995] (YSI)
(Alt Link Mediafire)

Ladykillers – Lush [From ‘Lovelife’ 1996] (YSI) (Alt Link Mediafire)

And OK, I’m cheating a little bit..I said it was hard didn’t I??

The following are not part of my Top 5. However, I do consider them as well, must owns. I guess I felt kind of wrong leaving them out without a mention. Think of them as a bonus CD I guess?

Must Have Bonus Tracks:

Roll With It – Oasis [From ‘(Whats The Story) Morning Glory’ 1995] (YSI) (Alt Link Mediafire)

Disco 2000 – Pulp [From ‘Different Class’ 1995] (YSI) (Alt Link Mediafire)

Girl From Mars – Ash [From ‘1977’ 1996] (YSI) (Alt Link Mediafire)

And if Brit pop excites you as much as me, I suggest you check out the graphic novel ‘Phonogram : Rue Britannia’. Have a little peek at it here…Phonogram Comic.

x

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Top Five Records Sunday : Brit Pop

  1. therecommender says:

    A tough post, but nice to see the new theme. Brit Pop had so many great bands and many highlights, but you choose wisely. Gotta say i prefer Columbia from Oasis’ choice though, but you did well.

    We gotta meet up at some point? So much Brighton-blog creativity to share over a beer.

    All the best,
    Mike (http://therecommender.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

