Futuristically Speaking…

I was on a mission today, a mission involving browsing every single record store in Brighton with the intention of starting to rebuild my CD collection. Because I’m fed up of being snowed under with Mp3’s and having a limited, outdated CD collection on my shelf.

When doing so, I came across something I’d forgotten had finally been released. Probably one of the most anticipated albums for me in a long, long time. I can’t actually believe its release date had slipped my mind.

The album, of course, being the first full length from Yo Majesty, ‘Futuristically Speaking… Never Be Afraid’.

When handing over my money in ‘Resident’ (my top rated indie record store) I rediscovered a feeling which has been somewhat redundant since my downloading days commenced..the pure excitement of wanting to rush home, stick the album in my stereo, cracking open the artwork and reading the inlay with no idea of what to expect. This feeling alone is something I never want to forget and promise not to neglect again.

My first thoughts on the album? Its a grower, definitely. I like every track, I know that much. Even ‘Never Be Afraid’, which makes me feel quite uncomfortable with how off beat it is, holds my attention. Theres a couple of instant stand out tracks which have been on repeat this evening. ‘Booty Clap’ for example, just screams Basement Jaxx, which isn’t a surprise considering the gents themselves produced it. Overall, I know I’m going to love it by the end of the week and I’m pretty sure I’ll be getting tickets for the fast approaching Neon Neon gig in order to catch Yo Majesty in the support slot.

Don’t be afraid. Buy it.

Booty Clap – Yo Majesty (YSI) (Alt Link Mediafire)

Party Hardy – Yo Majesty (YSI) (Alt Link Mediafire)


Yo Majesty’s Myspace

Tagged

Leave a Reply

