Shiny New Singer

So, Shiny Toy Guns are back. Or so it seems.

The future looked a little bleak at one point after the resignation of vocalist Carah Faye Charnow. Her replacement comes in the form of a wannabe Pussy Cat Doll, Sisely Treasure who you may recognise from that awful reality show.

I’ve never been a big fan of this band, Of course I enjoy a little ‘Le Disko’ at times, but they’ve always struck me as a band who attempt to cover too many genres at once. Sounding a little Electro, a little emo (dare I say it??) and even a little Euro pop at times.

With the new material, they seem to have dropped the electro part..which for me was their appeal in the first place.

‘Richochet’ is heavier than their earlier releases, its ok, not great. Even a remix from Kissy Sell Out doesn’t really make it attractive to me.

‘Frozen Oceans’ the follow up release, initially sounds like it could be featured in a Disney soundtrack, Sisely’s vocals actually make me cringe at points. Evanescence eat your heart out.

Full length ‘Season of Poison’ is released on November 4th. Good luck with that guys. Carah, it looks like you got out at the right time.

Richochet – Shiny Toy Guns (YSI) (Alt Link Mediafire)

Richochet (Kissy Sell Out Remix) – Shiny Toy Guns (YSI) (Alt Link Mediafire)

Frozen Oceans – Shiny Toy Guns (YSI) (Alt Link Mediafire)

Shiny Toy Guns Myspace

x

Tagged ,

One thought on “Shiny New Singer

  1. ragidtiga says:

    I’m not convinced just yet. With my guitar and 80s fetish I’m still fairly down with the music at the mo, but I prefer their older sound. But, yeh, give me Carah any day over this new lass. She had more spunk and actually happily sounded a bit wonky at times.
    We’ll see, I’m sure

Leave a Reply

