Night Terror

2008 is without doubt a great year for 18 year old Laura Marling. Her collaboration ‘5 Years Time‘ with Noah and The Whale reached number 7 in the UK singles chart, ‘Young Love‘ her collaboration with Mystery Jets reached number 34 and became an indie club anthem, She released her debut album ‘Alas, I Cannot Swim‘ which was nominated for the 2008 Mercury Music Prize and shes performed a series of sold out gigs across the country. All that at 18. It often makes me wonder what I’m doing with my life when I see others achieving so much so young.

On October the 27th Laura releases her next single, ‘Night Terror‘ which is one of my highlights from ‘Alas, I Cannot Swim‘ without a doubt. A fantastically eerie song, the perfect accompaniment to a rainy autumn evening. Even better once you witness the Blair Witch esque video, directed by Russell Weekes (see below). I must admit, I think I’d be more partial to fishing if I was likely to catch Laura Marling in the water rather than a couple of carp.

The single will be available in 2 formats – digital and 7 inch – both of which will include a new B-side track ‘Alpha Shallows.’ Additionally, the digital version will also include live tracks, recorded on the Song Box Tour earlier this year.

LINKS

Laura Marling’s Myspace

x

Tagged

Leave a Reply

