No More Long Blondes…

So its official. The Long Blondes have thrown in the towel.

From their Myspace blog:

“We have decided to call it a day.

The main reason for this is that I suffered from a stroke in June and unfortunately I do not know when / if I will be well enough to play guitar again.

On behalf of the band I’d like to say a big thank you to anyone who ever came to one of our shows, bought one of our records or danced to one of our songs in a club. Thank you, if it wasn’t for you the whole thing would have been pointless.

Finally on a personal note, thanks for all your well wishing messages.

Dorian xxx”

This is incredibly sad news. Not just the split of the band, but the tragic reason for them having to do so.

Kate Jackson has said that she will not write off the band reforming if or when Dorian recovers, however she announced that the bands members will all pursue their own projects for now.

“It’s the first time I’ve talked about it but that’s my plan,” she said. “I’m just beginning but I think it will reflect my personal music taste a bit more than the Long Blondes, which was a collaborative thing. I’ve only just started and a lot of the influences will overlap so hopefully fans of the Long Blondes will like what I do.” – Kate Jackson.

This news comes just after the release of ‘Singles’ on Angular Records. A collection of 12 demo’s from the bands first four 7″ singles and one unreleased track, ‘Peterborough’.

This album to me, is what The Long Blondes are all about, before they got sugar coated in production and before the release of ‘Couples’ which in my opinion was slightly disappointing.

I wish Dorian a speedy recovery and the best of luck to the rest of the band.

TRACKS

My Heart Is Out Of Bounds (From Singles) – The Long Blondes (YSI)
(Alt Link Mediafire)

Fulwood Babylon (From Weekend Without Make-Up E.P) – The Long Blondes (YSI) (Alt Link Mediafire)

Swallo Tattoo (From Someone To Drive You Home) – The Long Blondes (YSI) (Alt Link Mediafire)

LINKS

The Long Blondes Myspace

x

Tagged

One thought on “No More Long Blondes…

  1. J. Barrett says:

    that sucks about the longe blondes, love the site!

    barrett
    http://www.indyconcerts.com

Leave a Reply

