1000 Minutes – Part Three

stopwatch

Back again with part three…this project is literally consuming my life at the moment..

Again,for those of you who are are wondering what I’m talking about, check this out.

12. Justice Vs. Simian – We Are Your Friends (Original Mix) [4:18] [time remaining 960:03] (YT Link)

There was a point in time when I was sick to the back teeth of this song. But the thought of never being able to hear it again saddens me, so its pretty much essential to this list. This track sums up a very happy two year period of my life and right now I truly believe it is the most important dance anthem of our generation. Possibly the best track to hear as the clock strikes twelve on New Years Eve, the memories this triggers will always make me smile.

13. Sleater-Kinney – Modern Girl [3:01] [time remaining 957:02] (YT Link)

Sleater-Kinney are without doubt one of the most important bands I have ever come across. Every single one of their seven albums are superb in my book, but if I’m talking autobiographically, it was their last release ‘The Woods’ which made a rather large mark on my life. Its because of this that ‘Modern Girl’ is the track that makes the cut. Intensely lo-fi, incredibly simple, yet an absolute beaut of a song.

14. The Dresden Dolls – Girl Anachronism [3:00] [time remaining 954:02] (YT Link)

I’m going to be honest, I’m not what I would call a fan of The Dresden Dolls, infact I could count the songs I like on one hand. Girl Anachronism however draws me in and excites me everytime I hear it. There’s something very theatrical about this track, a real show stopper. The lyrics are dark and the recording is as raw as it gets, overall – intense.

15. The Black Ghosts – Anyway You Choose To Give It [3:38] [time remaining 950:24] (YT Link)

A relatively new choice in comparison to alot of my list so far. The Black Ghosts put this track out as a single in 2007 prior to their first full length released the following year. ‘Anyway You Choose To Give It’ was my favourite track in its summer of release, I pretty much wore it out, yet it still holds strong for me. Both the dirty bassline and suggestive lyrics give this track a real edge.

tbc…

x

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

