1000 Minutes Part Ten

stopwatch

In this edition of my 1000 Minutes I’ve decided to step back in time abit. Part Nine was almost real time in terms of track age, so this seems appropriate at this stage in time.

What are my 1000 Minutes? Find out here.

30. Longpigs – On & On [4:11] [time remaining 890:09] (Drop io) (Alt Link YSI)

Considering how much I loved Brit Pop, the fact that ‘The Sun Is Often Out’ by the Longpigs wasn’t in my CD collection makes me quite ashamed. However I would like to point out that being so young at the time, I didn’t know how to find bands that weren’t played on the radio…maybe not the best justification, but still. I was recently educated on this band by my girlfriend as I was only aware of one of their tracks. Due to this fact, ‘On & On’ will always remind me of her. This song for me is truly beautiful and portrays quite perfectly how underrated this band were.

31. Echobelly – King Of The Kerb [4:00] [time remaining 886:09] (Drop io) (Alt Link YSI)

Now here’s a track I’d forgotten about til really recently.  No matter how much time passes this song always sounds fresh to me. Originally released in 1995 on Echobelly’s most successful chart album ‘On’, the album made number 4 in the charts and the single scraped the top 25. Surely one of the best singalong chorus’s ever written, it sounds even better when the sun’s shining. Give it a go.

32. Spin Doctors – Two Princes [4:18] [time remaining 881:51] (Drop io) (Alt Link YSI)

This track was released when I was 10 years old. Nearly 16 years on it still brings a smile to my face. As soon as I hear that drum intro I’m taken back to my Mums car, aged roughly 13 (me, not the car). Every morning she’d listen to Virgin Radio and it was almost guaranteed that Chris Evans would play this along with ‘Wake Up Boo’ by The Boo Radleys. Singing along to this track each day with my Mum drumming on the steering wheel pretty much cemented her role as my best friend and always started the school day nicely.

33. Transvision Vamp – Baby I Don’t Care [4:41] [time remaining 877:10] (Drop io) (Alt Link YSI)

This track reminds why I love 80’s music. OK, so they just skimmed the decade, but still a fair statement I think. I truly believe that ‘Baby I Don’t Care’ would be just as successful if it was released today as it was in 1989. An ageless anthem, for sure.

tbc…

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

