1000 Minutes Part Eleven

stopwatch

So eleven entries down and I’ve only just made a dent in the first 200 minutes of this project. The part I’m finding hardest is putting a handful of tracks together that kind of fit in a post together. By that I mean that it feels abit odd mixing up different genres and I find myself concentrating harder on what tracks sound good together.

I’ve done that again with todays entry, but I’ve made a decision to try and stop myself doing that in future. I guess I need to stop thinking of this list as a DJ set and start remembering that this is more about my preferences and songs that have made an impact on me in some way or another. So, here we go again….

If you’re still not sure what this is all about check out this link.

34. Dizzee Rascal – Jus A Rascal [3:39] [time remaining 873:31] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

Dizzee was set to appear in this list from day one. Considering hes only released two albums (soon to become three) I had a surprisingly hard time choosing what track to include. I can’t count my favourite Dizzee tracks on one hand and they’re spread quite evenly over  his first full length ‘Boy In Da Corner’ and his follow up ‘Maths & English’. I rate his most successful track (unless you count ‘Dance Wiv Me’ his collaboration with Calvin Harris) ‘Fix Up, Look Sharp’ really highly, but didn’t want to include it as if I’m honest, its been overplayed and I just don’t enjoy it as much as I used to. ‘Flex’ from ‘Maths & English’ is definitely the track that’s makes me want to dance the most and believe that ‘I Luv U’ from his debut album is one of his best lyrically. Those tracks aside though, I decided to go for the track that got me into his music for the first time, his third single, ‘Jus A Rascal’.

35. Example – Me & Mandy [3:27] [time remaining 870:04] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

I don’t really have any significant personal reasons for choosing this track, other than the fact that it makes me smile alot. I have a lot of love for Example even after his response to Lily Allen’s ‘Smile’ entitled ‘Vile’ prior to his first official release. Tut Tut. I finally caught Example live in Bournemouth late last year and it only increased my love for this track as it was one of the best live performances I’ve witnessed in awhile. If you have to credit Example with something, it has to be his ability to make sure every single person in that room is having a damn good time. You’ll believe it when you see it.

36. Lady Sovereign – The Battle [7:50] [time remaining 862:14] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

There are so many Lady Sovereign tracks I could have included (and still might) in this list for many different reasons. The one I’ve gone for couldn’t be further removed from her recent mainstream-friendly-pop tracks (yes…I’m still bitter and disappointed). ‘The Battle’ was one of the first Sov tracks to surface and was featured on her ‘Vertically Challenged’ E.P, released in 2006. Its quite an epic track racking up over seven minutes of guys vs. girls battling with Frost P, Shystie & Zuz Rock joining her on vocal duties. Oh Sov…what happened to you??

37. Lupe Fiasco – Kick Push [4:15] [time remaining 857:59] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

I’ll never to pretend to be any kind of Hip Hop guru, its definitely not my genre of expertise and there’s no way I know enough about it to even begin to review it. This Lupe Fiasco track however is a fine example of the kind I like. It reminds me an old housemate of mine and a really chilled out time at the end of my years at university. I was recently reminded of this one when I came across the Estaw Remix, which is worth a listen if you ask me, since that day its been on rotation so had to be included.

tbc….

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “1000 Minutes Part Eleven

  1. finestcreativity says:

    I know how you feel about what you said regarding Hip Hop. I am not an expert either, but Lupe Fiasco still has to be a good example of what real Hip Hop is. Love the song!!!

Leave a Reply

