1000 Minutes Part Twelve

stopwatch

For todays installment of my 1000 minutes I’ve decided to go for a real mixed bag. A collection of really old, really new and really in between which together remind me why I’m taking part in this. What is this? Oh come on, catch up…take a little read of this and then come straight back.

38. David E. Sugar – Although You May Laugh [4:15] [time remaining 853:44] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

I remember when I first listened to the 6th Kitsune Maison compilation shortly after its release in October last year. This track stood out by miles for me and I’m ashamed to say that I wasn’t really aware of David E.Sugar at the time. Shocking I know. Something about the lyrics to ‘Although You May Laugh’ really move me and I’m not sure why. To the point, simple and truly beautiful.

39. Erasure – A Little Respect [3:34] [time remaining 850:10] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

There was a point in my life where I couldn’t listen to this track without feeling quite uneasy. I don’t think any one song has ever had quite the effect on me as this one. When a track relates so strongly to one important person it can really play with your emotions in a way you’d never expect unless you’ve experienced it. Its funny how things change with time isn’t it? It took me a long while to get over the hard times this song reminds me of even though previously it reminded me of when I was at my happiest. One day it just clicked and I could hear it again without concentrating on the hurt but instead, remembering the good times left behind.

40. Lily Allen – LDN [3:11] [time remaining 846:59] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

LDN and all of the demo’s from Lily Allen’s debut album just scream summer of 2006 to me. I had just met a person who was set to become one of the most important people in my life and spent alot of time driving between Southampton and Portsmouth to see her. She introduced me to Lily Allen after her demo’s started surfacing on Myspace and we went to her first ever gig together in Notting Hill. I remember that summer being particularly warm by this countries standards and the roadtrips listening to this track on repeat were some of the most fun times I’ve ever had. The intro to LDN always gives me flashbacks and makes me smile wide.

41. Garbage – Push It [4:02] [time remaining 842:57] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

I don’t think this song needs much justification really does it? One of Garbage’s best releases by far in my opinion. The memories linked to ‘Push It’ span from being 15 years old and thinking it was the best thing I’d ever heard (it probably was at the time) to quite recently for reasons that make me smile but I won’t go into. One of the most intense and brilliant tracks from the 90’s era, my love for this one will never fade. Fact.

tbc…

x

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “1000 Minutes Part Twelve

  1. milkteef says:

    Ridin though the city all day cause the pigs took away my lisence šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

