I Am Not A Robot

marina

Its taken me a little while to give Marina And The Diamonds a fair chance. Until this very week infact. Of course I haven’t been completely oblivious and I’ve been more than aware of her name floating around in every media hype centre possible, but something made me not want to listen.. Now this is nothing to do with Marina And The Diamonds themselves, more the media hype surrounding them. I’m getting pretty much sick to the back teeth of the media trying to pigeon hole every female artist into specific little pockets as if because they’re female they cannot be original, they must be linked to each other.

It appears the artists themselves are starting to get a little peeved with it too, as Marina herself said recently after being compared to Kate Nash, “Because OOPS! I have a vagina and a keyboard!!!! WE ARE SO SIMILAR!” I couldn’t put it better myself. I just wish the media would start focusing on the artists themselves and could think of better descriptions for their sound than the names of other artists. Then, I may just be curious enough to give them a listen.

In the case of Marina And The Diamonds, I wish I’d done it sooner.

Marina And The Diamonds – I Am Not A Robot (The Shoes Remix) (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

LINKS

Marina And The Diamonds Myspace

The Shoes Myspace

x

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

