1000 Minutes Part Seventeen

stopwatch

For this edition of my 1000 Minutes I decided to concentrate on some tracks I haven’t listened to in awhile, all of which are female fronted and all of which fill me with inspiration and awe. Thats all I’m going to say on this one…enjoy..

57. The Kills – Cat Claw [3:33] [time remaining 783:57] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

This track, as you know, comes from The Kills 2003 release, ‘Keep On Your Mean Side’ which was also their full length debut. I genuinely love this album from start to finish, its raw, unapologetic and to the point. ‘Cat Claw’ in particular for me is real stand out track, full of energy, guts and pure dirt. A classic for certain.

58. The Long Blondes – Once And Never Again [3:00] [time remaining 780:57] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

The day I heard that The Long Blondes were no more was quite a sad one for me. But at the same time I appreciated that there wasn’t really anything they could do to take their sound in a different or better direction. If I’m brutally honest infact, I thought their second album was a real let down. At the time of its release this track was everywhere and I couldn’t play a set without at least three groups of indie girls requesting that I play it. It was never a track that grew boring for me and after a long break its retained its appeal. This is summer time indie music at its best, as it should be and I think it’ll be a long time before anyone else tops it.

59. Sneaker Pimps – Spin Spin Sugar [4:20] [time remaining 776:37] (Drop Io) (Alt YSI)

I wouldn’t be as bold as to call myself a fan of Sneaker Pimps, but of this track? Definitely. Nothing of their pre or post ‘Spin Spin Sugar’ catalogue really grabbed me and still doesn’t, but something about this particular track hits the right spot. The bassline and vocal line are incredibly sexy and never fail to hold my attention. Just a genius track all round really.

60. The Distillers – Gypsy Rose Lee [3:54] [time remaining 772:43] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

My musical taste has changed alot since my days of wearing out this album, to the point of not really listening to it at all. But something about leaving The Distillers out of this list just doesn’t feel right. At one point in my life I lived and breathed punk music but hardly any of the bands I listened to during that time have stayed with me in terms of life importance, except this one. There are a few songs by The Distillers I could’ve chosen to fit into my 1000 minutes, all with the same thing in common, they give me goosebumps. Brody Dalle’s vocal at the beginning of this track is divine, pure and simple, I don’t think I’ve ever come across a vocal style even half as sexy as hers and probably never will.

tbc…

x

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

