1000 Minutes Part Twenty One

stopwatch

I’m going to knock part twenty one out quite quickly today because I’ve chosen three songs that never leave my recently played list, making them easy choices. Here goes…

70. Simian Mobile Disco – I Believe [3:19] [time remaining 739:34] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

I fell in love with this track instantly – every single element of it. And when I saw them play live for the first time at Bestival in 2007, I was obsessed with it. For me, this is what SMD are about and listening to this track again now only increases my disappointment in their latest album. A guy in HMV recently told my girlfriend and I that ‘Temporary Pleasure‘ was basically the best album he’d ever heard and how much it overshadowed the previous. Now all I can assume from that is that he hadn’t really listened to ‘Attack Decay Sustain Release‘, because tracks like this one cannot be beaten. I should’ve known better really and not stepped into HMV in the first place…

71. The xx – VCR [2:57] [time remaining 736:37] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

Its so great so see The xx achieving the hype they deserve at long last. Their debut album is simply beautiful and if you haven’t picked it up yet, do it soon please. This song has been one of my favourites since hearing it in demo form a few years back now. The lyrics are incredibly sweet and its a fine example of the amazing chemistry between Romy and Oliver’s vocal styles.

72. Pony Up! – Marlon Brando’s Laundromat [3:48] [time remaining 732:49] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

This song will always make me smile for personal reasons as it reminds me of one the greatest people I know. Pony Up! are a marvelously simplistic sounding band that never fail to tug on my heart strings. Never has this been more evident than in this track which contains some of the sweetest lyrics I’ve ever come across “I’d rather be with you asleep than anywhere awake”.

tbc…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

