1000 Minutes Part Twenty Two

stopwatch

For anyone who is visiting this blog for the first time…let me explain myself. If todays post is the first you stumble across, you may consider me a little lame..the following song choices may strike you as embarrassing, cheesy, cringeworthy…or god forbid, all of the above. But before you judge, let me remind you of what the 1000 Minutes Project is all about…right HERE.

I continue…

73. Prince – Raspberry Beret [3:33] [time remaining 729.16] (Drop Io) (Alt Link)

I’ve always had a strange relationship with Prince, not personally of course, but musically. Some of his material I love to the point of obsession and some tends to make me cringe to the point of hitting skip on the controller so viciously I risk damage. This may be due to my musical taste throughout the 80’s being so clearly influenced by what my parents were listening to (and in turn forcing me to). From what I can tell, my Dad has quite a love/hate relationship with him also. Because of this, I blame him for my confused feelings towards his back catalogue. There are a number of tracks by Prince that I could include in this list and I may still…but for now I’m going to stick with a track that always makes me smile and that I will not play an 80’s set without including.

74. Eric Carmen – Hungry Eyes [4:08] [time remaining 725:08] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

This choice is pure self indulgent cheese, without question. I don’t remember exactly how old I was when I saw Dirty Dancing for the first time, but I remember where and with whom. Whenever my parents went out in the evening they would drop me round at their friends house and although these friends were very close to my parents, I know that my mother, being the faux snob that she is, didn’t particularly approve of how they brought up their kids. This judgement was only heightened when she came to pick me up one evening to find that their children and I had been watching it. I however, was hooked and love it still to this day. This song choice will make alot of people cringe I’m sure, but hopefully alot will also share the brilliant 80’s nostalgia.

75. The Primitives – Crash [3:14] [time remaining 721:54] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

As the previous two choices for today’s entry are 80’s orientated and real guilty pleasures, I may aswell continue down the same route. Despite its title and lyrics, I love driving to this song. This is one of the most upbeat and catchy tracks I’ve ever come across and for that reason alone, it needs to be included. As a sidenote, when that idiot from Busted covered this a couple of years back, I wanted to bust his face even more than I did before. Some things are sacred, somebody tell him that please?

tbc…

x

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

