1000 Minutes Part Twenty Five

1000 Minutes, its been awhile. Infact, so long that anyone that actually reads this blog has probably forgotten what the hell its all about. If you need an explanation and a look over my list so far, follow this LINK.

82. Mumford & Sons – Little Lion Man [4:07] [time remaining 693:58] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

This track for me is a classic example of how much your opinion of music can change when you attach a personal memory to it. Its like it transforms into something fresh, something new and definitely something more personal. Mumford and Sons are a band I should never have liked. Commercial folk music has never taken my fancy, not in the slightest. But as soon as you attach night after night of your best friends wearing mexican hats, taping each other to chairs and singing in unison as they do “the Mumford Stomp”…well, as expected, that all changes.

83. Passion Pit – Little Secrets [3:57] [time remaining 690:01] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

Strangely, for a song with quite a dark and depressing subject, I find it one of the most uplifting of recent times. ‘Little Secrets’ ticks all the boxes for me when it comes to finding a credible indie-pop track. Its an anthem, its sugary sweet and its perfect.

84. American Football – The Summer Ends [4:46] [time remaining 685:15] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

I’ve always been a sucker for goodbyes, its one of those things that always get me. I’m literally so over emotional and girly about it at times that I can well up looking at two people I don’t even know say goodbye to each other at an airport. Slightly ridiculous I know. This song sums up that “goodbye” feeling pretty much perfectly for me. From the perfectly drawn out minute and a half intro down to the beautifully minimalist lyrics we’re used to from American Football.

“i’m thinking about leaving / and how i should say goodbye / with a handshake / or an embrace / or a kiss on the cheek / or possibly all three”

This song had gone a little forgotten by me until recently until a good friend of mine (my wingman you could say) reminded me of it. I’m so glad she did.

x

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

