1000 Minutes Part Twenty Six

Considering how regular they were when I began this project, I am aware of how infrequent the 1000 Minutes Posts are becoming. For those of you who have noticed this (I was shocked and incredibly flattered to actually receive a couple of emails in regards to this), I apologise. There hasn’t been a particular reason for it and I will definitely still finish the project, even if it takes me five years – Anyone who actually knows me knows about my obsession with lists, ordering and musical association so they can vouch for this.

Todays entry will be a short one, but a really important one as I find both of these songs beautiful to the point where they actually give me shivers. Strangely, they both cover a similar depressing subject matter, yet I find them quite uplifting and comforting at the same time.

85. Chicane – No Ordinary Morning [5:10] [time remaining 680.05] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

Released on possibly my favourite Chicane album, ‘Behind The Sun’ in 2000, ‘No Ordinary Morning’ is one of the most beautifully, haunting, chill out dance tracks I’ve ever come across. Tracy Ackerman’s whispered vocals around halfway into the track get me everytime and I challenge anyone to not find this song incredibly moving.

86. Frightened Rabbit – My Backwards Walk (Live Version) [3:23] [time remaining 676.42] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

This is the second Frightened Rabbit song to feature in my 1000 Minutes and I don’t think it will be the last. I truly consider them to be some of the greatest songwriters of our generation and for me every song is a masterpiece. ‘My Backwards Walk’ would be my favourite song if I had to choose, although the decision would be a hard one. This version, from the live album ‘Liver! Lung! FR!’ really captures the rawness and sentiment behind the lyrics, Scott Hutchison’s vocal is so genuine and pained it gives me goosebumps. Lyrically, I don’t think I’ve ever heard a break up summed up better…

I’m working on my faults and cracks
filling in the blanks and gaps
and when i write them out they don’t make sense
i need you to pencil in the rest

Genius.

x

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

