1000 Minutes Part Twenty Seven

Its about time I made another dent in my 1000 Minutes, I can’t believe I’m not even halfway…

If you’ve forgotten what this is all about and for a recap of the songs I’ve chosen so far, click this LINK.

87. Sia – Breathe Me [4:35] [time remaining 672:07] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

In terms of choices for this list, this track may seem a little bit cliched, or at least an obvious choice. At times a song I once loved can lose its original meaning if overplayed or overhyped, but not this one. The vulnerability found in the lyrics comes across throughout the songs arrangement and it never fails to give me shivers.

88. The Cinematic Orchestra – To Build A Home [6:14] [time remaining 665:53] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

Epic is probably the best description I can give of this song. The mix of soulful and genuinely pained sounding vocals with a simple yet heart string tugging piano line is enough to breakdown the most hard faced of individuals.

89. Counting Crows – Colorblind [3:25] [time remaining 662:28] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

Made even more poignant by that scene in teen movie sensation ‘Cruel Intentions’, I along with most other 16 year old girls at the time shed a little tear as Ryan Phillipe became visible at the top of the escalator with this track playing in the background. In the present day, I find the whole thing quite ridiculous, but this song, still beautiful.

90. Florence + The Machine – Hurricane Drunk [3:13] [time remaining 659:15] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

Definitely my favourite song from the perfect from start to finish album, ‘Lungs’. Strangely, I don’t think I’ve ever come across anyone else who rates it as highly as I do in terms of the rest of the album. I find this genuinely surprising as I consider ‘Hurricane Drunk’ a real anthem and the peak of the album as a whole.

91. Bon Iver – Skinny Love [3:59] [time remaining 655:16] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

Some may say that this is the most accessible and likely to be commercial track from ‘For Emma, Forever Ago’, I say this isn’t always a bad thing. Sometimes a track reaches the heights of easily accessible because it is simply a masterpiece and this in my opinion, is true of ‘Skinny Love’. An impressively ‘large’ sounding folk song considering its the work of only one man, the layered vocal harmonies are perfect especially when maxed out through your headphones. This one had me at first listen.

to be continued…

x





Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “1000 Minutes Part Twenty Seven

  1. Morbid Iris says:

    Thank you for uploading these sweet melodies ! Breathe Me is just perfect in sadness. And Skinny Love is one of my favourite folk song. THANK YOU again !

    ( lame english because I’m Belgian … )

Leave a Reply

