1000 Minutes Part Twenty Nine

I’ve got a slightly larger 1000 Minutes entry for you today as I noticed that I was approaching my 100th track and well, I had to hit the milestone rather than wait for the next entry…

If you want to check out the full list so far (I can’t believe we’re still nowhere near the halfway point!) then follow this LINK.

96. Bloc Party – Song For Clay (Disappear Here) [4:50] [time remaining 638:36] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

Living up to their debut album with their second relief was always going to be a large challenge for Bloc Party, I like most others was dubious on whether they’d be able to do it, but as soon as ‘A Weekend In The City‘ kicked off with this track, I was sold. Theres something incredibly fierce and bitter about this track, whether its the tongue in cheek portrayal of East London life, the authentic casual slur of Kele’s vocal or the pure indie rock energy the songs melody  and beat produce together, its a real kick in the face kind of song. The icing on the cake for me is the group backing vocal reminiscent of the style found in Queen’s ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’. What I would call a perfect album opener.

97. Jimmy Eat World – For Me This Is Heaven [4:04] [time remaining 634:32] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

From what is without doubt my favourite Jimmy Eat World album, 1999’s ‘Clarity‘, this song got worn out good and proper between the ages of 16-19ish. Often part of my car journey to college soundtrack and featured on every mixtape I made for someone at the time – which is saying something as I made a lot of mixtapes! The lyrics “Can you still feel the butterflies?” are spot on, as I definitely can, everytime I hear it.

98. Tegan and Sara – The Con [3:29] [time remaining 631:03] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

‘The Con’ is the album that made me fall back in love with Tegan and Sara when I was pretty we were over. The albums production is outstanding and really helps to give them an edgier and more grown up sound. The title song in particular stood out for me on first listen, lyrically its pained and moving as you’d expect from them, the harmonies are more stunning than ever, the melodies catchy and the triple drum beat on the break never fails to get an airdrum from me.

99. Bat For Lashes – The Wizard [4:14] [time remaining 626:49] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

I doubt very much that this will be the only Bat For Lashes song that features in this list, but ‘The Wizard’ is definitely the one that jumps out at me when considering my options. Beautifully haunting and atmospheric it reminds me of the first time I saw them play. I went to with my good friend Freya to Koko in London and was expecting a good show, but not one of the best gigs I’ve ever been to. Not only were Natasha Khan and her band absolutely flawless, the venue was decorated to suit the scene with trees, moonlight and various other props and each member of the crowd was given a songbook with all of the lyrics to the ‘Fur and Gold’ album so they could sing along. Its that kind of attention to detail that features across both of the bands albums that makes them quite so incredible.

100. The Streets – Blinded By The Lights [4:46] [time remaining 622:03] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

Its surprising that considering the genre of this record, it still hasn’t aged for me. Infact, over time and as I’ve gotten older, it feels about ten times more relevant than it did. ‘A Grand Don’t Come For Free’ was loved by the critics back in 2004 and a lot of people labelled Mike Skinner as ahead of his time. A pioneer if you will. At the time, I wasn’t completely sure. Now, I’m convinced. This song in particular is an incredibly accurate and realistic portrayal of club culture, anyone thats ever been in the same situation as the lyrics describe will agree I’m sure.

tbc…

x

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “1000 Minutes Part Twenty Nine

  1. finestcreativity says:

    i need to get started on this project! All the songs are great! I just haven’t checked out “The Streets” so I’m gonna get on that. Thanks!!!

  2. I love the track The Wizard by Bat for Lashes too. You might like this artist Little Bark too http://littlebark.bandcamp.com/album/hope-is-rubbery-2

Leave a Reply

