1000 Minutes Part Thirty

I feel like I’ve got back into the swing of this project now, maybe a little break is just what I needed. For those of you who want to know what its about / how it started click this LINK, You’ll also find the total list so far which is updated with every post.

In other news, if you’re a big fan of the idea, a very good friend of mine, my Wingman infact, has just started her own 1000 Minutes also…keep track HERE.

101. Billie Myers – Kiss The Rain [4:30] [time remaining 617:33] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

I’m not sure what it is I love about this song. I remember hearing it for the first time when I was about 14 years old and being confused about whether Billie Myers was male or female. Listening to it now, I can’t quite grasp why I was so unsure, I guess I wasn’t so up on my genders back then. The chorus takes me back to my mums car when she used to drive me to school every morning and singing along to Virgin radio with her the whole way there. I used to argue with my Mum alot back then (regrettably) and those car journeys were the only time we got along 100% of the time. I used to take the piss out of her music taste as most teenagers do, but looking back, it wasn’t really that bad.

102. Goo Goo Dolls – Slide [3:33] [time remaining 614:00] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

One of my favourite things in the world is being reminded of an album you used to adore but for whatever reason have forgotten. Hitting play for the first time in years and your head immediately filling up with memories and song lyrics you didn’t think you’d remember. This happened for me recently with ‘Dizzy Up The Girl’ by the Goo Goo Dolls and in particular, this song. I got this album in the year it was released and it was around the time I was convinced I was “alternative” because I listened to Natalie Imbruglia and Alanis Morisette (I know – I was a joke). It stayed in my list of favourite records for many years and got the most play in my throughout sixth form. The opening guitar riff instantly takes me back to that time and simultaneously makes me feel old.

103. ELO – Mr Blue Sky [5:02] [time remaining 608:58] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

Everyone has one song that makes them happy no matter what right? Well this is mine. There was a time when I didnt leave the house without at least three mix CDs for my car containing this track. If you have problems getting up in the morning, then I recommend using this as your alarm, highly.

104. Bruce Springsteen – The River [5:01] [time remaining 603:57] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

My Mum is pretty much a lifelong fan of ‘The Boss’. I could never understand her obsession when I was younger, especially when she passed out at his concert like a teenage girl. As I started to get older, it started to make sense. I’d easily rate Springsteen as one of the best songwriters of this century, his lyrics are always genuine, from the heart and will generally tell a tale. My favourite tale being this one. Beautiful, yet melancholic and deeply sad, even without the personal memories attached, this song will always tug a heartstring with me.

105. Starship – Nothing Is Gonna Stop Us [4:25] [time remaining 599:32] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

Now, as the majority of this entries choices have been abit parent orientated I may aswell add this one in now. Part of me doesn’t want to, because lets face it, its pretty much social suicide. But then the winning part of me is determined to stay true to the point and meaning of this project and well, I’d be lying to myself and anybody reading this project if I pretended that I could live without ever hearing this song again. So there you have it, I’m a self confessed loser with a secret  – terrible music taste.

In all seriousness this song has two different memories for me, one is obvious, my Mum and Dad loved the movie Mannequin (coincedently so do I now) and they loved their 80’s power ballads, this is something they influenced me with and I’ve never been able to shake. The second memory is more recent. My friend Darren and I used to DJ an 80’s night once a month in Brighton, at first I thought it’d be a nightmare because I’d get bored of the limited music choice, but I couldn’t have been more wrong. Tag teaming with one of your good friends and not just being allowed, but being encouraged to play all of your guilty pleasure tracks from the years you were growing up is absolutely ideal. Every night, no matter what, we’d close with this song and dependent on how many sambuca’s we’d done, we’d normally end up doing a duet over the mic.

tbc…

x

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

