1000 Minutes Part Thirty One

Sometimes I find my mood dictates the posts within this project and today I’ve really tried to go with my gut feeling rather than try and link songs that fit well together. It really is more difficult than it looks to create a series of posts like this one when this has lasted over a year already.

If you’ve forgotten what the 1000 minutes project is all about, click HERE for the full list so far and an insight into why I’m doing it and how it came about.

106. Fleetwood Mac – You Make Loving Fun [3:32] [time remaining 596:00] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

This is the second time Fleetwood Mac are appearing in this list and I’m pretty sure they may crop up at least once or twice more. As I explained when I put ‘Everywhere’ in at number 46, Fleetwood Mac have always been present in my life and unlike other artists they’ve never really faded. ‘Rumors’ is without doubt one of my favourite albums and the combination of Stevie Nicks and Christine McVie as songwriters and vocalists is just dreamworthy in my eyes. This song was written by McVie, allegedly by about an affair with the bands lighting director. Her vocal is spot on and the seductive bassline that starts the track compliments the subject of the song perfectly.

107. John Mayer – Your Body Is A Wonderland [4:08] [time remaining 592:52] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

I’m actually a TINY bit embarrassed about this one…Generally I hate songs containing overly soppy lyrics, but something about this one gives me those horrible girly feelings I try to rebel against. From John Mayers 2001 album, ‘Room For Squares’ I remember staying with family in the states around its release time, the video was on constant rotation on every music channel and every radio station would play it constantly throughout each day. Its because of this that I attach the song to memories of driving down highways and the amazing landscape that surrounds my Dads house in Virginia. It may not be the ‘coolest’ song choice, but its definitely one of the choices that makes me happiest.

108. Snow Patrol – How To Be Dead [3:24] [time remaining 589:28] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

If you ask me, Snow Patrol are lyrically, one of the best bands the UK has ever produced. They make heartfelt songs sound credible, the emotion always sounds genuine and their story telling ability is outstanding. The best example of this ‘How To Be Dead’. Back in the days where I dismissed most mainstream indie bands as sounding the same, this song is what convinced me to give Snow Patrol a chance. It pulled me in then and it still does now, six years later.

109. Metric – Monster Hospital [3:31] [time remaining 586:57] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

Not my favourite Metric song (although I have a few) by a long shot, but it definitely holds the most memories. I’ve been a big Metric and Emily Haines fan for a number of years and when she turned up at a club in Southampton I was DJing at after a gig, it was pretty incredible. Even more so when she came behind the DJ booth with us and sang along to this track over the microphone as we played it (we made her, we were all very drunk). Very few people at the club knew who they were at the time, but the looks on the faces of those who did when they looked across at us drunkenly wailing down the mic were priceless.

110. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts – Crimson and Clover [3:17] [time remaining 583:40] (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

One of the sexiest songs ever written in my opinion. The lyrics obviously start the foundations for this opinion (which of course don’t belong to Joan Jett at all) but even more so, her infamous husky and whispered vocals top it off. I’ve always had alot of respect for Jett and The Runaways due to their role in cementing womens place in music and although this tracks a cover it still increases that respect. Expect to see more from The Runaways as this list continues.

tbc….

x

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

