Hello

“I could stick around and get along with you, hello / It doesn’t really mean that I’m into you, hello”

Sometimes songs just hit you instantly, you know that on first listen that you need them in your collection. Other times though, they float on past you and then several weeks, months or even years later they swim past your ears again and you wonder why you didn’t feel it as much on first listen as you do now.

The latter happened to me with this track. Over the last few months my love for dance music fell off the radar, I’m not sure why, but all I could really connect with was guitars and good lyrics. This week the part of my brain that obsesses over heavy, electronic beats and distorted basslines reconnected and sprang back into action. I’m glad, I was starting to worry that I’d lost it forever. I blame the temporary lapse on a steady break in DJing I think, I’ve taken some time out from it to concentrate on other things and because of this I guess I haven’t been obsessing as much as usual over new tracks for my sets. I finally got back behind the decks again on Monday night and well, I guess it got me back on track.

So yes, the point of that drawn out story, heres an absolute banger that should’ve had me on first listen, but passed me by. Better late than never.

Martin Solveig & Dragonette – Hello (Sidney Samson Remix) (YSI)

x

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

