1000 Minutes Part 34

The further I get into this project, the more infrequent the posts appear to get without intention. I fear infact that its been dragging on so long now that the majority of people reading this definitely won’t have been with me from the start. If this is the case, have a little peak at this LINK to get an idea of why I’m babbling on in such a nostalgic manner.

I promise, PROMISE, that I’ll make more headway on this project this week…

119. The Cure – Pictures of you [4:48] [time remaining 550:15] (YSI)

Although The Cure have always been and always will be one of the bands I respect the most, some of their songs tend to go out of favour with me at different times in my life. ‘Boys Don’t Cry’ for example, is one the best indie anthems around, but in equal measures to me loving the song, there are times when I would rather block off my ears for a day than hear it. Why? I’m not sure, over exposure you could say, but with ‘Pictures of you’ this has never had this effect on me and I struggle to imagine it if ever well. This is a melancholic love song at its best, lyrically perfect (“I’ve been looking so long at these pictures of you, that I almost believe that they’re real“), suitably epic, vocally moving and perfectly nostalgic from start to finish.

120. Fleetwood Mac – Silver Springs [4:49] [time remaining 545:26] (YSI)

“You could be my Silver Springs, blue, green, colours flashing” has got to be one of my favourite opening lines to a song ever. Saying that I’m a fan of Stevie Nicks and Fleetwood Mac would be an understatement, infact picking my favourite tracks of theirs for this project is definitely the most difficult in terms of trying not to include an entire back catalogue of a band I love. Silver Springs was always going to be included, without doubt, as in my opinion, this is Nicks at her songwriting best. If you are yet to watch the making of ‘Rumours’ documentary and you consider yourself a fan of this band, please, watch it. Before watching it myself I loved the album, adored it, but the depth and feeling added afterwards was just intense. The genuine desperation and sadness in Nicks’ vocal towards the end of the track (“Time casts a spell on you, but you won’t forget me; I know I could’ve loved you but you would not let me“) gives me shivers everytime.

121. Paul Simon – You Can Call Me Al [4:37] [time remaining 540:49] (YSI)

This has got to be one of the most instantly recognisable songs of our century and aswell as that one of the most loved too. As soon as that “dur da da dur” kicks in I can’t help but sing along, tap my feet and drum on the nearest surface. Before you say it, I’m well aware that that sentence probably makes me sound like a middle aged man, but for me, thats the beauty of this track, people across all generations can’t help but do the same. When a song comes along thats as uplifting and infectious as this, it becomes timeless, instantly.

122. Crowded House – Don’t dream its over [3:55] [time remaining 536:54] (YSI)

The opening rift of this song gives me the strangest feeling in the world. Its kind of that mixed up emotion you feel when a fond, yet sad memory enters your head. I’m sure I’ve talked about my Dad and his love of one single compilation cassette in this project already, but to set the scene for you just incase, whenever I used to go and stay with my Dad in summer holidays as a kid he’d have to drive me back from Nottingham (where I lived at the time) to Kingston. Now as any driver knows, this isn’t a particularly quick journey, so when you listen to one single cassette tape throughout that journey, its tracklisting becomes somewhat engraved on your memory quite fast. This was always one of my favourites and you could say it became abit of an anthem of my childhood. Returning home at the end of the holidays was never a happy time for me, hence the sad association, but singing along to this with my Dad at least three times on that journey is a memory that will always make me smile.

TBC….

x

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

