Laura

I feel like I’ve done something really great in the world to deserve so many of my favourite artists coming back with new releases this year. There have been many countdown moments where I’ve been obsessively waiting for release days to come around and stalking artist Twitter profiles in the hope of sneak peeks or promo videos but even better than that are the surprises. And Queen of the surprise for me so far this year is Natasha Khan, otherwise known as Bat For Lashes.

I had absolutely no idea that a new single was on its way so when I was linked to ‘Laura’ it was a real Christmas and birthdays all at once scenario. I’ve read alot of blogs talk of their surprise that ‘Laura’ is the lead single from due album ‘The Haunted Man’. For me, its perfect. It combines everything I love about Bat For Lashes, that haunted feeling, the simplicity of the piano which compliments Khan’s powerful vocal beautifully and the pure and true emotion that touches you in a way that many songwriters fail to achieve.

x

Tagged

Leave a Reply

