Scott Pilgram vs. The world

I often find myself falling deeper in love with a movie if its soundtrack blows me away. This is part of the reason I rate Cameron Crowe as my favourite director as his soundtracks are a vital ingredient to the formula of his films as a whole. Not just an added thought thrown in in the final edit, but seemingly linked in so tight with the narrative that you could believe the songs chosen were added at the script stage.

A few weeks back, I found myself falling in love with a soundtrack to a movie I hadn’t even seen yet. (FYI – I have seen it now and absolutely LOVED it). I was looking forward to it already thanks to the reviews, the softspot I hold for Michael Cera and just being a geek for comic books in general, but the soundtrack, well, it had me at hello.

The first surprise for me was the appearance from Brighton based heroes, Blood Red Shoes. “Its Getting Boring By The Sea” is a firm favourite of mine and to hear it on a Hollywood movie soundtrack is quite incredible, even more so for the band themselves I’m sure.

Possibly one of the most eclectic compilation albums I’ve ever come across, we’re also treated to some classics from real rock legends, T-Rex and Frank Black of the Pixies to name a couple. Modern day indie heroes Metric lend unreleased ‘Black Sheep’ to the mix and Broken Social Scene grace the album about 3/4’s of the way through.

The best find for me however has to be Canadian band, Plumtree. After some extensive online research I was sad to find that the band actually disbanded in 2000 after 7 years together. I’m always disappointed in myself when I come across such a gem too late, but this is definitely a back catalogue I’ll be hunting down.

Plumtree – Scott Pilgram (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

Next, I came across one of the most unlikely, yet brilliant cover versions. The song – ‘By Your Side’, originally by Sade, The band – Los Angeles based, Beachwood Sparks. It actually took me about two minutes to remember why I recognised it, something every good cover should do as it means the new artist have put their own unique spin on it.

Beachwood Sparks – By Your Side (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

The cherry on top of this musical cake is the films fictional band, Sex Bob-Omb. The bands songs are performed by members of the cast and are written by Beck. If you’re into your lo-fi then I find it hard to imagine how you couldn’t enjoy Sex Bob-Omb, fictional or not.

Sex Bob-Omb – Summertime (Drop IO) (Alt Link YSI)

Scott Pilgram vs. the World is out in all good cinema’s now.

x

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment