1000 Minutes Part 33

Here we are again with installment 33. I’m not feeling particularly witty or insightful today, possibly the Christmas comedown, so I’m just going to get straight on in rather than bore you with a meaningless introduction. If however, you wish I had as you have no idea what this project is about, follow this here LINK and all your prayers will be answered…

115. Jimmy Eat World – Hear You Me [4:45] [time remaining 564:26] (Mediafire) (YSI)

This is the second entry for J.E.W in my 1000 minutes collection and I’m well aware that as far as their extensive back catalogue goes, this is a pretty cliched choice. I must admit, I stopped and thought a few times before concluding that it had to make the cut as I have done with a few other obvious choices to far. The deciding factor? Simple really, it was love on first listen with this track back in 2001 and now almost a decade on it still gives me tingles. J.E.W are quite possibly the masters of creating the tingle as far as I’m concerned, I’m not sure what their secret ingredient is, but its a damn good one. A little bit of personal history for you – as a teenager I was dead set on this being played at my funeral, I’m alot less morbid nowadays so couldn’t tell you if this is still the case, but I know I wouldn’t be disappointed if my earlier wish was honored.

116. Passenger – Walk You Home [3:42] [time remaining 560:44] (Mediafire) (YSI)

Possibly one of my favourite indie tracks of the last decade, this never fails to pick up my mood. Lyrically it sums up perfectly the fine line between being considered weird or cute when socially awkward which is something many of us know only too well. Lyrical perfection if you ask me:

I’m the boy who answers the phone / I’m the boy who eats lunch on his own / I’m the boy with the monotone / I’m the boy who still lives at home / I’m the boy with the iron shirt / I’m the boy who watches you work / I know where you keep your skirts / I know where your secrets lurk / I’m the boy that’s calling your house / I’m the boy that’s freaking you out / With my thermal flask of tea / Up there in your neighbour’s tree / I’m the boy that’s crossing borders / I’m the boy with social disorders / I’m the boy with restraining orders / I’m the boy yeah

117. The Moldy Peaches – Anyone Else But You [2:59] [time remaining 557.45] (Mediafire) (YSI)

If you think you can find me a song with cuter lyrics, go right ahead, but I’m pretty sure I can’t be proven wrong when I say that this is the perfect accompaniment to any teenage love story (“Up up down down left right left right B A start /
Just because we use cheats doesn’t mean we’re not smart”
). Featuring in Juno way after its release in 2007 rekindled my love for the song after the quite perfect Ellen Page dueted with my geek hero Michael Cera but the original will always be the version that tugs on my heartstrings. The Moldy Peaches are perhaps one of the most terribly underrated bands of our generation and vocalist Kimya Dawson is a true highlight of my CD collection, if you don’t know it, you should be ashamed.

118. The La’s – There She Goes [2:42] [time remaining 555:03] (Mediafire) (YSI)

Strangely, I don’t actually have alot to say about this track apart from the fact that it never fails to make me smile, no particular memories are attached although it does link to several great moments in time, but its pure simplicity just hits the spot. Confident as though it may seems, I’d be bold enough to say that it is definitely one of my favourite songs of all time, which may seem obvious after including it in this list, but I’m pretty sure it’d still make the cut if the project was entitled ’20 minutes’. Pure indie pop perfection.

tbc…

x

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment