1000 Minutes Part Four

stopwatch

Back to work today, so I’m strapped for time, but I couldn’t let today pass with at least small update to my minutes..

Hopefully you know what this project is all about by now, but for those of you who don’t, check this out.

16. The Knife – Heartbeats [3.54] [time remaining 946:30] (YT Link)

This track is probably an obvious choice for alot of people, but that will not deter me from its inclusion. Made huge by that bloke with a guitar passing it off as his own in 2006, I remember my cousin asking me who had been silly enough to cover him once. I’d never had a problem with cover versions until that day. I guess that’s when you know you’re getting old..when feel you need to educate the younger generations about music that appears outside of the top 40. Other than ‘Maps’ this has got to be one of the greatest indie love songs ever written…disagree? Play it any indie club night and consider my point proven. This track holds so many different, yet equally important memories for me over the last six years which alone proves that it will never lose its appeal.

17. Snow Patrol – You Could Be Happy [3:04] [time remaining 943:26] (YT Link)

Snow Patrol are probably the only band I share a love for with both of my parents. This has got to be one of the most beautiful break up songs ever and never fails to tug on my heart strings. I’m sure that many people can relate to it on one level or another, lyrically perfect and strangely uplifting considering its topic.

tbc….

Tagged ,

Leave a comment