1000 Minutes Part Eighteen

stopwatch

Due to pure exhaustion after Brighton Pride this weekend, I don’t think I can summon enough energy for an introduction this week. So instead, I’ll get straight to it with the 18th installment to my 1000 Minutes…

61. The Shins – Turn On Me [3:42] [time remaining 769:01] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

I’ve been listening to this track on loop for a little while today trying to figure out why I love it so much, no personal memories flood to me instantly when I hear it, but it always gives me a warm feeling as if they should. Lyrics such as “You can fake it for a while, Bite your tongue and smile, Like every mother does an ugly child” definitely help by injecting a little dark humour, but still I can’t place it. So instead, I’m going to settle with telling you that I consider it beautifully uplifting, laid back track that you should certainly own. Period.

62. Amy Winehouse – Tears Dry On Their Own [3.05] [time remaining 765:56] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

Amy Winehouse is just one of those artists that will always divide opinions and trigger debates. Sadly, it appears that this is almost always caused by her public profile as endorsed by The Sun and other comics that disguise themselves as national newspapers. Underneath all of that rubbish, there is incredibly talented vocalist who I fear may never achieve her full potential. I must admit, Amy’s sound doesn’t really fit into my day to day music taste, but I rate both of her albums highly. ‘Tears Dry On Their Own‘ is my choice track across the two releases mainly due to how effortless but brilliant her vocal line sounds, something about it gave me shivers the first time I heard it and I fell for it immediately.

63. Dancehall Crashers – Cricket [3:39] [time remaining 762:51] (Drop Io) (Alt Link YSI)

This is a golden oldie from my collection that has never lost favour with me. I’m aware that alot of people may find the lyrics a little cheesy, but they’ve always made me smile. Released on the album ‘Purr‘ in 1999, I remember my old best friend Jon playing it to me for the first time in his car when I was roughly 18 years old. For a song to still mean so much to me nearly 8 years on it must be pretty important right? So here it is.

tbc…

Tagged , ,

One thought on “1000 Minutes Part Eighteen

  1. White Collar Crime says:

    This song is lyricaly genius. I find it strange I listned to this song a billion times today as it appeared on my shuffel, and there it was in hypem’s top where it should be.

Leave a comment