Clap your hands as we are born

July 12th is going to be a great day. Why? Because it brings the release of one of the most eagerly anticipated albums this year. Sia returns from almost a two year break to drop full length album ‘We Are Born’ into the laps of her fans.

Of course the aforementioned fans have had Sia on their radar for quite some time and for many its almost criminal that she hasn’t had more widespread recognition yet – it is afterall a decade on from when her outstanding debut, ‘Healing Is Difficult’ hit the shelves. I for one remember the first time I came across her and I’ll admit (I don’t like to do this often – especially if I haven’t been on an artist since the start) it wasn’t until the release of ‘Breathe Me’ in 2004 that I well and truly had my mind blown away by her. I don’t think I’ve ever come across a person who doesn’t adore that song, especially mixing in lesbian circles – it made her quite the poster girl.

Back to my original point – it appears that finally Sia might be about to get that widespread recognition she deserves. All you need to do is look at the albums credits and you’ve pretty much got a sure bet. Take the producer for example, Greg Kurstin has worked his magic with many A-List artists over the years; Kylie Minogue, Britney Spears, Lily Allen and Ladyhawke to name a few. Now don’t get me wrong,the music snob inside of me would hate to see her go as charty as the first three artists I listed..but maybe its about time the general public actually found some talent on their radios….who am i to say?

Sia – Clap Your Hands (Prince Vince Remix) (Drop io) (Alt Link YSI)

Sia – The Fight (Drop io) (Alt Link YSI)

Sia – Girl You Lost To Cocaine (Stonebridge Remix) (Drop io) (Alt Link YSI)

LINKS

Sia’s Myspace

x

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment