1000 Minutes Part Twenty

stopwatch

This is getting difficult now, it truly is. Little did I know when I started this project back in March (Check out what that post and this whole thing is about HERE.) that it would take up so much of my time, my thoughts and my listening time. Not that I’m complaining, this project is forcing me to go on quite the musical journey, raking up tons of memories as I go…

67.  Michael Jackson – Dirty Diana [4:41] [time remaining 749.00] (Drop io) (Alt Link YSI)

This track was due to belong in this list since day one. I held off from entering it recently in light of Michael Jackson’s death and the media circus that followed, but I don’t believe the circus will be leaving town for quite some time, definitely not before this project is complete so now is as good a time as any. His album ‘Bad‘ was the first I ever owned, given to me on my 4th or 5th birthday by my dog. Yes, my dog. My mum even completed a card on his behalf, with a paw print as his signature…the things our parents expect us to believe hey? I could sit here and tell you how much the album moved me on first listen, but lets face it, I was 5, what did I know? As I got a little older, I grew out of the other tapes I played on repeat (New Kids On The Block, Take That) and it soon started to make sense that this man would be one of the only two artists I would respect from my childhood until the present day (the second being Kylie Minogue, if you’re interested). ‘Dirty Diana‘ is my track of choice purely for its epic, stage made presence. It never fails to give me goosebumps and the urgency in Jackson’s voice never fails to appear as anything but genuine. This for me is the perfect display of an incredibly talented musician, a legend, something Jackson will always be.

68.  Zolof the Rock and Roll Destroyer – Argh, I’m A Pirate [1:54] [time remaining 747:06] (Drop io) (Alt Link YSI)

Nothing could be further removed from the previous choice than this. There is no illusion of grandeur in relation to this song, I’m not going to declare my admiration for its technical brilliance, not at all. Its a very simple, pop punk song. But to me, ‘Argh, I’m A Pirate‘ is one minute and fifty four seconds of pop punk perfection. The melody is catchy, the beat is bouncy and the lyrics are incredibly cute, if not a little juvenile. “You and me we’re like little machines / We run around the room and mess up sheets / No one can put me to sleep, expect you” – makes me smile without fail, everytime I hear it. And for that reason, no matter how pathetic it may seem, it makes my 1000 minutes.

69. Ash – Walking Barefoot [4:13] [time remaining 742:53] (Drop io) (Alt Link YSI)

Whenever the sun comes out, something in my head insists that I listen to Ash. I don’t know what it is about them that stops their sound becoming stale to my ears, they’re not the most original or pioneering band by any stretch of the imagination. But I guess for me, listening to Ash is like slipping on an old, but incredibly comfy pair of trainers. It doesn’t matter if the sole is falling off, or if my toes poke out the end, something about them is undeniably safe. ‘Free All Angels‘ was an album completely worn out by myself and a former girlfriend several years ago, it will always remind me of driving around Bournemouth with the car windows down, her feet up on the dashboard and the stereo pumped up high. Perfect summer music.

tbc…

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment